## MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Introduced by:

<u></u> <sup>(1)</sup> Edward J.B. Calvo (944) Mark Forbes A. A. R. Unpingco Ng OI L.F. Kasperbauer Mike Cruz, M.D. Joanne M.S. Brown Jesse A. Lujan Ray Tenorio

Relative to recognizing the 107<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines and to congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam on their observance of this significant occasion.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA' BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, each year on the 12<sup>th</sup> day of June, Filipinos around the world jubilantly celebrate the Anniversary of the Independence of the Republic of the Philippines; and

WHEREAS, the Republic of the Philippines gained her independence through the sacrifice of many Filipino heroes such as Andres Bonifacio, who led the Cry of Balintawak, and Emelio Aguinaldo, who commanded the Battle of Binakayan; and WHEREAS, the fight for freedom was likewise supported by noted Filipino women such as Tandang Sora, Teresa Magbanwa, Marina Dizon Santiago, Patrocinia Gamboa, Gregoria de Jesus, Teodora Alonzo, and Marcell Agoncillo, all of whom joined the Revolutionary Forces; and

WHEREAS, the culmination of the Filipino struggle for independence was on June 12, 1898, known as the Red Letter Day Philippine history, when General Emelio Aguinaldo declared Philippines Independence in his hometown of Kawit, Cavite; and

WHEREAS, such declaration was adopted by the Assembly of Municipal Presidents and was eventually ratified by the Congress of the Republic of the Philippines assembled in Malolos, Bulacan on September, 1898, as an expression of the sovereign will of the Filipino people; and, now therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, that the members of *I Mina' Bente Ocho' na Liheslaturan Guåhan* recognize the 107<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Proclamation of Independence of the Republic of the Philippines and further congratulate the Filipino Community of Guam on their observance of this significant occasion; and, be it further

**RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attests to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Nita Baldovino, President, Filipino Community of Guam; to the Honorable Teresita Mendiola, Philippine Consulate General's Office of Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA' BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE \_\_\_\_\_ DAY OF \_\_\_\_\_, 2005.

MARK FORBES Speaker EDWARD J. B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature